The hair dilemma

As some of you will know I have had purple hair for some time now. Well, since I was in my 20s actually. First it was a plum colour because that was all you could get but for the past few years it has been real purple and I loved it. However, not everyone did. Son #2, who is rather conservative in his tastes and I’m really not sure how he can be mine, has always found it rather embarrassing. “Why don’t you just have nice brown hair?” he’ll wail.

The other problem with purple hair – and my love of purple in general – is the comments you get from churchy friends. “Ooh so you want to be a bishop!” they’ll cry, and other such episcopal threats. No matter how often I assure them that I have no such ambitions and in fact can’t imagine a more difficult job, they continue.

So I decided that although I will not stop wearing purple perhaps it was time to cease the purple hair nonsense. So last week, in time for Synod, I went brown. Just boring brown. And all I got were comments of “Oh where’s your purple hair?”

Son #2 is happy. Some of my little flock think I look younger. But many think it just isn’t ‘me’. And whenever I look in the mirror (not often) I cringe because it doesn’t feel like me. It doesn’t reflect my personality. Although why purple hair should, is not something I understand. It’s an extrovert thing, I guess. Yesterday the consensus was that brown with a few purple streaks might be the way forward. If I was really brave I’d let it go its natural colour (white and grey, I suspect) and then get purple streaks. Much more interesting!

So watch this space…

16 thoughts on “The hair dilemma

  1. I was in a shop the other day – the sort that sells EVERYTHING cheap. It had some amazing pink and purple hair pieces including a purple and brown ponytail. I didn’t buy, but I thought of you. My own purchases were two (for £6 – £5 if I bought just one, so I didn’t) somewhat less showy shell and bead necklaces, some hair conditioner (£1) and a tube of half price make-up.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.