Rabbits and reflections

Last week I read a super book – highly recommended – When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman. It was quirky and amusing and poignant and would be a great read for a book group. It tells the story of a family over four decades and cleverly uses world events for each chapter to set it in time. There are gay brothers, lesbian aunts, eccentrics of all shapes and sizes – but most of all there is family and childhood friends. My only complaint would be that there are so many ‘issues’ covered but none of them in any great detail. (And no, there wasn’t much about God in it either – god being the name of the pet rabbit.) 4 stars.

The other book that’s been on my bedside table for weeks and one to ponder slowly is Richard Giles’ Here I am: Reflections on the ordained life. I am a big fan of his books on liturgy and using church space but this little book takes each of the sections in the ordination service for priesthood and examines them. It should be required reading for anyone exploring a vocation, for those in training, and for those who have been ordained for yonks. It is easy to read, evocative, amusing in parts, and deep in others. A book to be savoured and dipped into time and time again, possibly on retreat. I felt that I needed a journal alongside it to tease out my own reactions to some of it – and there are a few underlinings and exclamation marks throughout my copy now. 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Rabbits and reflections

  1. Shows how much I trust you – I’ve just ordered the Richard Giles title on your recommendation – though I have got 2 others by him already and found them challenging and helpful though Uncommon Worship is difficult in a church with one narrow central aisle and large pews. Oh for some space to move.

Leave a Reply

