In which Ruth ponders the big move

They came on Monday 30 May. Two of them. Both called Darren. They asked for no tea with two sugars. They did not desire a biscuit. (I had got supplies in.) They were not great conversationalists. But they were good packers. And pack they did. All day long. It was hot and sunny and they did nothing but pack my worldly goods into boxes.

The next day they came with two others. One had a bad back. They didn’t want tea or biscuits either. (I suspect they’ve had a bad experience in the past.) The weather was hotter and up and down the stairs they climbed carrying a whole load of junk until the van was full and they started on the next one. They never complained (in my hearing anyway) and were very professional. But I know what they were thinking. How could one woman have so much stuff? And it was after lunch time before they set off from Falkirk to Edinburgh, promising to get more men to help unload.

And I was left to look around a rectory where I was very happy. (Except for the cold and the choirnextdoor.) My study walls bore the marks of my cross collection, and in2016-05-28 12.00.06.jpg the hall I could see where all my icons hung. The carpet had a few tufty bits from when Rita was a kitten. And I think I left a fish in the freezer of the flat. Sorry about that!

After a big deep breath I jumped in the car with all the leftovers and drove to the new rectory, all fresh paint and new carpets and empty cupboards. For the next few hours I directed boxes to different rooms until you couldn’t see the new carpets any more. God bless Darren, Darren and his friends. (Yes, I gave them a tip.)

2016-06-11 19.31.30That was just over two weeks ago. Since then I’ve been Instituted surrounded by friends old and new, had a week off to unpack and sort, taken my first Sunday and midweek service, been to General Synod, met with lots of people whose names I forget, attended a Vestry meeting (90 minutes for those who keep score), loitered at a Toddler Group Summer Fair where a fire engine was promised and didn’t materialise (gutted), been greeted by many locals, been to Waitrose, moved some furniture around in the sanctuary, produced the long-waited pew sheets and learned a laser printer can do back-to-back printing, picked some rhubarb from outside my back door, had lunch with the Ladies Who Lunch, scared the Brownies, and never sat on my new garden bench once because it has rained every day. Rita kitten found a hidey hole and was terrorised for a few days and is now indignant that I’ve blocked her hiding place up with recipe books.

The new rectory is warmer and almost liveable. Yes, some kitchen drawers need to be rearranged and I’m sitting side-saddle at my desk because there’s a big box under the foot-well and nowhere else to put it. But apart from some minor things I’m almost organised. And now I can do church! Now I can plot and plan and design and imagine and love and proclaim and make friends and suss out talents and, from time to time, wonder how so-and-so back in Falkirk is getting on. It is all very exciting and has been very exhausting. And I don’t want to do it again until I retire!

 

6 thoughts on “In which Ruth ponders the big move

  1. Happy to hear you are getting settled,and I ask God’s grace and blessings on you and your new church family. You have been quite busy already and I hope it won’t be long before you’re right at home. New places….new challenges. Wishing you every success.

  2. Thinking of you, in all the upheavals, and so glad to read your blog, and know the move has happened without problems [excepting Rita, of course!] Trusting all will go well, and the future full of lilac and purple.

  3. Hello Ruth!!
    I sneeked in here through Fredas bloglist and found yet another fellow minister., although serving in another church than me. Still, it’s all the church of our Lord Jesus, whatever else you may or may not do. This was such a nice way of describing that rather difficult situation that moving actually is. I wish you all the best of luck, I’m sure you’ll get settled soon. I often find that people are much the same everywhere, and it takes but a minute to find kindred souls, new friends ,and antagonists, if you are unlucky. People to love and help there will aways be, but there comes a time when you need to move on, and it will feel just right to do it. I found this post very soothing and fun to read!!!
    Blessings and all the best to you where you now have been planted!!!

    • Thank you Solveig, for your comments. It now feels as if I’ve made the right move and am surrounded by lovely people. Phew!

Leave a Reply

