Palm Sunday Sprint

I remember a certain priest who always prayed hard for rain on Palm Sunday so he didn’t have to process outside his church.  However, it has always seemed to me to be a necessary… evil, is not quite the word I’m looking for.  So yesterday as it was gloriously sunny and warm here in Falkirk, process we did. It was our All Age Service and we had a young person as crucifer and I suggested that he didn’t hang about when leading the procession. (He does a deliciously slow process when bringing up the elements at mass, but at that speed we’d get through ‘Ride on, Ride on in Majesty’ at least 3 times.) So off he set, lickety splick, and we galloped after him. I was bringing up the rear, running slightly as they disappeared round the corner ahead of me. In fact, 20 Silk Cut a day prevented me singing and running at the same time. Especially singing at the same speed as walking/jogging/galloping. Thank goodness the organist kept on playing for a few verses at a more sedate pace  once we got in to allow us to catch our breath.

Three of our young Confirmation candidates read the Narrative of the Passion too and it was incredibly moving. Young ‘Jesus’ couldn’t really be seen behind the ‘big burrd’ but his lovely deep voice rang out loud and clear. And the other two read at a wonderful pace and with great feeling too. It was really awesome.

Then in the afternoon our housebound and elderly were picked up by our lovely volunteers and ferried in for another Palm Sunday service (without procession naturally) and then Afternoon Tea with our new cakestands.  And no, I won’t tell you how many cupcakes I consumed.

So it was a wonderful day, uplifting and sorrowful all in one. Just what you need to kick off Holy Week. And I was in bed by 8.30pm sound asleep.

And my quote from the week from Milton Jones:

Sometimes religion can seem like the last person in a long game of Chinese whispers. Once Jesus said, ‘Love God and each other’, and now we have the Easter Bunny!

 

6 thoughts on “Palm Sunday Sprint

  1. Oh help Ruth, I could easily have done you a Mark one had I had any idea my poor efforts were to see the light of day again!

  2. Remind me in good time next time we get near – I become increasingly passionate about our horrible translations.

  3. I think Luke’s the least satisfactory in many ways as a work of art, you know. Doing it, I cast longing glances at Mark.

Leave a Reply

