Chillin’

Readers are complaining that I haven’t been blogging much lately. You’re quite right – I haven’t. Sometimes that happens. Sometimes you are just so unbelievably busy that you don’t have time to sit down and ponder anything worth blogging. And as I missed 3 weeks worth of my day off and it ain’t gonna happen this week either, then blogging is way down the list of priorities. By the way, when did I turn into such a grouch and a martyr? You have to be careful about that in ministry. Nobody wants a martyr for a priest. And don’t talk to me about housework… the place looks like a dust mountain.

I haven’t even been reading much lately. Our book group begged for one of the Classics and chose Cranford for our next book. And, dear reader, it is driving me crazy. Those women just simper all day long and there are just so many stupid rules. I get more and more frustrated by it all that I end up switching off my Kindle in disgust. It would appear that I’m not alone either. The dear person who suggested reading a Classic hasn’t finished it either and says she never will again. Any suggestions of something more up to date?

I did finish Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen which I believe has recently been made into a film. It was a book that was recommended by so many people last year that I decided to give it a go. Well, it was okay. Nothing more than that really. Jacob joins the circus and becomes the vet and falls in love with an elephant and Marlena who rides her. But Marlena is married to someone else who is rather scary. I didn’t really empathise with any of the characters and the setting of America in the Depression was… yes, depressing. I mean, when you’re writing about a circus there are just so many characters you could play with, but none of that really happens. Even the love affair was rather short and not exactly thrilling. Not recommended.

So this afternoon I have vacuumed the house from top to bottom, done a wee bit of tidying and a pile of washing. The ironing is screaming but I’ve shut the door on that one. And I think I’ve inviegled a wee bit of time off tomorrow morning so I’m closing down now and am going to do some serious chillin’.

 

9 thoughts on “Chillin’

  1. You sound as though you’ve thoroughly earned your chill time. I hope it involves a glass or two of something more interesting than milk. Which nicely leads me to Cranford. I had to read it at school many centuries ago and it bored me rigid.
    Unfortunately, though a voracious reader, I never remember author’s names.
    Have just returned to the library very well written book by a Russian writer (name forgotten) but the book is called “The Concert Ticket” and is very different from anything else I’ve read for ages. If i could remember the writer I would thoroughly recommend it.
    How’s that for a useless bit of information. Sorry.

  2. If you haven’t read it you must read The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco and if you want to chance another classic The Count of Monte Cristo, The House of Sleep by Jonathon Coe – they are probably the top three in all the listening I’ve been doing although not the only ones I would recommend.

  3. Oh, how I empathize with the book club thing. I’ve been in two, and often end up feeling that I never read anything I particularly want to read in book club, unless it’s my turn to choose!

    I also empathize with the blogging issue. If you’re worn out, you just don’t have much inspiration or energy to write. Some time off will be a tonic; I hope you get some soon. (I guess that’s what you get for going on vacation earlier.)

  4. …………. On another topic however, Water for Elephants film was even less than overwhelming! Missed several of the main points of the book and on a contrary note, the love affair took over the whole film!… and there was not enough focus on the American depression however it more or less kept me awake on my flight back from India!
    Likewise not recommended!

    Have you read The Power of One, by Bryce Courtenay? I read it under duress and found it enthralling. It would be a good book club one I would imagine, lots of contrary opinions and emotions to be raised.

  5. Best of luck with Toast – a number of my book group (not previously known for their prudishness) thought much of it quite yuk. Hope your parishioners are more broadminded.

Leave a Reply

