Malcolm Goldsmith RIP

I heard this week that the Rev’d Malcolm Goldsmith had died. I knew that he hadn’t been well for a while but it still came as a surprise.

I first came across Malcolm via a little book that he wrote when he was at St John’s Princes Street. I picked it up in the Cornerstone Bookshop is those days when you went in and the staff had the banter ready and could persuade you to buy a bagful of books before you remembered what you’d gone in for. This book was called Knowing Me Knowing God and explored your spirituality with Myers-Briggs. It was a revelation for me because I learned that ENFPs sometimes struggle with prayer – no kidding! I’ve used material from this little book in lots of groups who have also found it to be a revelation.

Then I met Malcolm when he shared his wisdom about Dementia and Spirituality. I’m afraid to say I don’t remember exactly why this was one of his passions, but perhaps a reader out there will know. You may know that my father has dementia and for the past 11 years I have been visiting him and others in my little flocks and found Malcolm’s insights really helpful. Then he wrote Strange Land which was one of those books that you want to share with the whole world. It was such an easy read but really helpful for thinking about how we in the church pastor to people with dementia.

Then last year a group of clergy met monthly to discuss issues that concerned us with Malcolm and his pal Michael at the helm. His experience and insights were always worth listening to and my respect for him grew. He was kind, a good listener, and eternally cheerful.

May he rest in peace and rise in glory.

One thought on “Malcolm Goldsmith RIP

  1. How interesting. I met him as DDO, liked him, and found him interesting. I’ve also found myself remembering things that he said that I didn’t understand or agree with at the time, but that have become meaningful since. But I always experienced him more on the ‘gruff’ than ‘cheerful’ end of the spectrum. In a nice way. But still. We are, all of us, so many different people in different contexts, aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

