Books and films and tears

One of the books I’ve read recently was The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett. Sometimes only a wee Alan Bennett will do and I always keep a pile of them in the spare bedroom for guests. I didn’t know this one and it was given to me by one of my little flock. It is about the Queen and her discovery of the library van in Buck Palace and her subsequent discovery of books. As with every Bennett book, there is humour and pathos in the bucketload.

I’ve just finished Kate Mosse’s The Winter Ghosts which is considerably shorter than her Labyrinth and Sepulchre. And it does what it says in the title – tells a ghost story set in snow. The book is written in the first person – Freddie – but for some reason at the beginning I was sure it was a woman speaking. So I’m not totally convinced that the author got the ‘imagining yourself as a man’ thing.  It was a good read and almost un-put-down-able.

Finally, on my day off I watched a new DVD just out while I did the ironing. (I did have to sit down for a sniffle now and again.) The Velveteen Rabbit is one of my favourite children’s classics and oft quoted in sermons on love. I’m not sure that this sticks exactly to the story but there is enough of it to remind you of the highlights. Part animation which would delight young children, it is such a wonderful story. Buy it for your grandchildren now, and have a secret viewing yourself. (Btw, I got it in Tesco very cheap.)

3 thoughts on “Books and films and tears

  1. I have just added the Winter Ghost to my Iona library collection so look forward to the read – depending on weather! And it looks like Hannah, Lucas (and Granny) will be getting a new DVD to watch! Will say a prayer for you in Relig Ochrain chapel.

    • Well you’d better get 3 boxes of tissues for that one! Blimey! You’ll be awash.

      When do you go? Oh how I wish I was going too… Fond memories of Relig Ochrain and healing…

      • “The Girls” are heading off on Thurday for 2 days on Mull before being joined in “that thin place” on Saturday by the rest of group. Wish you were coming too.

Leave a Reply

