Take up your cross and follow me

The Blessing during Lent is practically the only one I know off by heart.  Christ give you grace to grow in holiness, deny yourself, take up your cross and follow me, and the Blessing of …

The photo is from the Hill of Crosses in Lithuania. The crosses represent peaceful resistance and it is a place of pilgrimage and has been since the 14th century. Many times in its history it has been razed to the ground, and covered over with sewage and waste. But each time, local inhabitants and pilgrims brought more crosses and rebuilt it.

To take up our cross is to carry it ourselves in our own particular circumstances. So Christ becomes part of our own everyday lives.

At the moment in my life my cross is very light but I know some whose cross is very heavy. Remind me Lord, to offer my help to carry their cross.

Leave a Reply

