Kids in Church

For the past few days I have been entertaining different 1st year classes from the local high school.  They come chattering and shrieking and I want to lock the doors and keep hold of them. We could do with some more young people in Christ Church. It must be hard being the only three or four.

They all have a worksheet and have to find Christian symbols around the church. Yesterday I told the class about Mary’s symbols: the lily and heart with a dagger through it which is in one of our stained glass windows. The latter made us think of tattoos.

Who wants to be the priest, I ask? Me! Me! Me! Then I produce the stole and chasuble and there is much laughter and phone cameras come out to snap away. They take to it like ducks to water, processing with a swagger and nipping up the steps to the pulpit with an agility that hasn’t been seen here for some time, I’d think. They don’t actually know what a sermon is except that it is probably boring.

The Body and Blood of Christ captures their imagination. (Wafers taste just like Flying Saucers without the sherbet.) Do you get drunk on the wine, Miss? I’d come to church if they gave out wine. The Reserved Sacrament takes a bit more explaining and I’m not sure I did It justice.

And then they depart and the church breathes a sigh of… relief? loss?

 

5 thoughts on “Kids in Church

  1. we have a 9.15 sung mass with hymns which is traditionally for parents and kiddies and the 11.15 is high high choral mass with paid choir and it always kills me when kiddos come to the 11.15 and are singing along and humming and enjoying the holy spirit and some of the elderly-in-spirit get all tut-tut even in the middle of the chanting of ‘Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of God belongs. 17Truly I tell you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will never enter it.’ hilarious to me

Leave a Reply

