Books

The Friday Five over at RevGalBlogPals is all about books…

1. What books have you recently read? Tell us your opinion of them.  I am still enjoying reading some childrens’ books and I don’t seem to have found a good chunk of time to get into anything more grown-up. (However, next week is a holiday so I hope to remedy that soon.) At the moment I am reading When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr. I think I saw her on the Book Show a while ago and she was talking about it. As you may have guessed it is about the war and how a family cope with leaving Berlin.

2. What books are awaiting your available time to be read?  The Left Hand of God, Daphne, Harlequin, The Little White HOrse, One good Turn, The Uncommon Reader, Wolf Hall, The Fry Chronicles, Mennonite in a little black Dress and another pile upstairs which I can’t be bothered going up to see. Oh, and a host of classics on my Kindle.

3. Have any books been recently recommended?  Yes, the Mennonite in a little black Dress. In fact, I think most of the list above were recommended by someone or in a magazine.

4. What genre of books are your favorite, along with some titles and/or authors you like best?  Depends on the time – I love a good whodunnit (ecclesiastical are the best) but that has to be on holiday where I can get a straight run at them. Authors there would be : Catherine Fox; Alison Joseph;  Michelle Blake; PD James; Phil Rickman, Julia Spencer-Fleming etc.  Anything with a religious theme going on is usually good.  Karen Armstrong; Anne Lamott; Barbara Brown Taylor.  For historical fiction where you can learn something too, it has to be Philippa Gregory or Tracy Chevalier. For bedtime reading you can’t beat a Jodi Picoult for the ethical themes, or Kate Atkinson for wit and good writing. Children’s books – anything by Michael Morpurgo, especially War Horse; and Madeleine L’Engle.

5. What have you read lately that you have a strong urge to recommend? (or to condemn?)  Recommend The Room by Emma Donoghue.

4 thoughts on “Books

  1. I appreciate your list of authors, which I copied for future reference. I’ve been checking out books at the library, so this list will go with me once I’ve finished the Charles Todd mysteries (which will be soon). Thanks.

  2. I have “Uncommon Reader” as an unabridged audiobook read by Bennett himself. As soon as I heard out I went out and bought a copy for my Mum to listen to in her car. I found it a lovely, light and entertaining read. As a book it is probably good for a relaxing weekend or a long afternoon.

Leave a Reply

