The King’s Speech and The Crucible

I seem to go through phases of watching films and for past few years I really haven’t been into them at all. Partly, it is because I don’t really like going to the cinema alone so I wait and buy them on DVD and one of the boys has ‘borrowed’ the DVD player and I can’t be bothered plugging it all in and so they lie unopened. I really must start up the Film Group again and watch some movies with others.

But this week I have watched two films. The first was The King’s Speech which a few of us from Christ Church went to see. All the hype and all the blogs said it was wonderful and I would add to that. Mind you, I’d forgotten quite how loud it was at the cinema these days (and how expensive!) which assumes that everyone there is either in their dotage with ear trumpets of young and without hearing because of wearing headphones at loud volume. But soon you don’t notice the incredible volume and get into the film. Glorious it was too.  Colin Firth was excellent and his stammer very believable – and agony to watch. In fact, all the actors were superb and the little touches of humour made the subject matter much more bearable. Derek Jacobi as Archbishop Cosmo Lang was good and made me rather uncomfortable. I really enjoyed it and would watch it again like a shot.

The second film I watched was The Crucible based on the play of the same name by Arthur Miller.  It stars Wynona Ryder and Daniel Day Lewis and was incredibly powerful. Obviously I’ve heard of the play but had never read or seen it but this has made me want to see it on stage. (Miller actually wrote the screenplay for this.) It tells the story of the Salem witch trials and, let me tell you, the Church doesn’t come off terribly well in this. Ryder was wonderful in the lead role and a nasty piece of work. The feminist in me got more and more riled as the film went on because women in this Church and world don’t fare terribly well. In fact, they mostly get hanged. There! I’ve spoiled the ending for you! Worth a watch though.

4 thoughts on “The King’s Speech and The Crucible

  1. Colin Firth is beautiful, principled and a good actor – I’m delighted he is finally getting recognition and not just candy-floss roles.

Leave a Reply

