New Year Resolutions

I don’t think I am in the habit of making new year resolutions unless you count the usual ‘lose weight, exercise more’ kind. And if you know me, then you’ll also know that these resolutions were forgotten long before the wise men even appeared. But this week I’ve had a lot of plans going round my head so let’s see if I record them, then they actually come to fruition.

  1. Learn how to make bread. There was an attempt at this last year and it never took off so this year I am adamant that I shall learn the kneading thing.
  2. Get back into knitting some prayer shawls. I have the wool and while the cat sleeps…
  3. Diary some time for reading ‘serious’ books. It is work after all.
  4. Teach myself Powerpoint. Yes, I know everyone in the world knows how to do it but I’ve never really had time to sit and play. This year I shall.
  5. I have invested in a Slow Cooker so this year I am going to cook more (well, just cook actually) and not rely on ready-made meals when Son #1 is not around to cook for me.
10 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions

  1. Two comments actually,
    Firstly yes, bread making is a good idea, it is great therapy.
    Secondly, all of the young people in our little church are very competent in the use of PowerPoint. Maybe they can work with you (a couple of joint project sessions being better than being talked at as you well know) and feel they are helping a bit. Indeed, with a clever choice of subject for the presentation they could learn some deeper theology or spiritual thoughts along the way.

  2. I inherited a Slow Cooker from Aunty S back in November when the white stuff started to fall. It’s really good at making soups!

  3. Ruth, any help you want with using Presentation software let me know xx

    ps slow cookers are good, stews, soups, curries and best of all rice puddings mmm

  4. Big secret in PP presentations (successful) is to avoid too many words. Concentrate on images to reinforce what you’re actually saying. This avoids the Death by Powerpoint syndrome, which is usually fatal.
    😉

  5. Sorry – moment of late-evening didacticism born of despair, I fear. And this morning I’d misremembered and thought I’d been commenting about bread-making: all very confusing. Now – back to that sermon …

  6. Pingback: Slow Cooker Sausage and Beans | Still Striving For that Elusive Halo

  7. A bit late to reply to this blog, but a combination of being very busy and having had computer troubles has kept me from catching up with everyone until now:

    1. Bread is easy, but a nephew or son with really big hands helps. I tend to use my breadmaker to knead and do the first rise, but I shape the bread myself and cook it in the oven.

    2. Good for you. I can’t knit. I know the theory, but make a pig’s ear of the practical.

    3. Me too.

    4. That’s about half-an-hour of your life seen to. It took my nephew ten minutes to demonstrate and me twenty minutes practice to get to the point where I could produce a good presentation.

    5. I have had my slow cooker for more than thirty years now and I use it regularly – two or three times a week in winter though less in summer when hot stews are replaced by salads. I have a recipe which I find absolutely foolproof and (apart from vegetarians to whom I don’t offer it, though I did once do a quorn version) I have only encountered one person (a teenage boy) who didn’t like it. (I say that he didn’t like it, but actually he didn’t try it as he said he didn’t like tomato, though on another occasion I saw him dolloping ketchup all over some poor inoffensive piece of meat or fish.) 1lb sausage meat rolled into small balls or sausages (Lincolnshire, of course) cut into halves or thirds, a chopped onion, a tin of chopped tomatoes, and a tablespoon each of malt vinegar, tomato puree and brown sugar. This can all be sloshed together in the slow cooker to cook from scratch or, for an even better flavour, the onions can be softened and the sausages sealed and slightly browned in a frying pan first. Serve with pasta, rice or crusty white bread. Serves 3 to 4 (or just two of my nephews – one if really hungry) in this quantity, but doubles and trebles up easily and well limited only by the size of the slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

