Why I don’t read newspapers

This is why I don’t read newspapers.

Not that I am like Stephen Fry in any way, although he is one of my favourite ‘personalities’.  But I have had experience in the past of writing press releases and having them re-written incorrectly. Mostly these are trivial mistakes, like a wrong date – although how someone can’t cut and copy that without making a mistake is beyond me. However, sometimes the mistakes are much bigger and have dire consequences. Like a radio station promising not to give out the name of a young girl who had run away from an abusive father. “We’ll call you Sally,” they said. And didn’t.

Too many times I have seen stories blown out of all proportion. Too many times I have seen news that isn’t news but gossip that has to be retracted at later times. Too many times I have seen people hurt by the Press.

That is why I don’t read newspapers.

2 thoughts on “Why I don’t read newspapers

  1. Too true. I remember my uncle came to visit us on his way home to Canada from Vietnam where he had been working as a doctor with children who were victims of the war. My father mentioned this to a journalist friend who had been at school with both of them, and it got blown up into a ‘local boy makes good’ story. My mother sent all the correct facts, but what appeared was fiction.

Leave a Reply

