Books

I’ve slowed down a bit on the reading front, what with the move and everything, but I have managed a few pages at night before I collapse into nocturnal exhaustion.

Howard’s End is on the landing by Susan Hill. This was recommended by Canon James Woodward (from Windsor Castle where I stayed, don’t you know) and really has got me thinking. While looking for the said book in her many bookcases (oh how I can relate to that!) Susan Hill came across dozens of other books she had never read, or forgotten she owned, or wanted to read again. She decided not to buy any more books for a year but to journey through those already on her shelves. If you had to choose your favourite 40 books, which would you choose? The book is really about the author’s journey with reading from the early days of Enid Blyton, through Shakespeare, Dickens, Roald Dahl and others. Each chapter explores either a genre of book or things like ‘things that fall out of books’ and the memories they hold. It was a delight to read and if I could bear not to buy any more books, I’d do the same.

What would be in your top 40?

When I left St Mark’s one of my little flock gave me a pile of books enjoyed by teenagers as I had been telling her how much I had enjoyed reading children’s books lately. I’ve finished the first one – Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers. It didn’t take long to read (well, it took me 3 nights before sleep took over) but you could do it in an hour or so, and tells the story in notes between a teenager and her working single-parent mum. Any mum of teenagers will relate to it, and any single parent will smile too. I can’t really say more without giving the game away but this would be a great present for an adult-child. I loved it. (And thank you Louise and Jennifer! A perfect present!)

4 thoughts on “Books

  1. Thank you for this! Perhaps you’ll add further recommendations on the teenage front [teenage grand-daughters here who need encouraging].

  2. Thanks for the link…. Im in the middle of a 10 day clergy course so you can imagine!!
    Hope the transition is creative Best Jamesx

Leave a Reply

