Books

Thanks to the local charity shops, I’ve just finished another couple of books.

The Burnt Out Town of Miracles by Roy Jacobsen. If you are interested in the story of a small Finnish town in 1939 then this is the book for you. The inhabitants of the town all flee invading Russian troops except for one man, Timo, a woodcutter. I’m not sure why I picked this wee book up, except that it had a sticker on it saying it was chosen by The Times Book Group. I hope they enjoyed it more than I did. Snow, frostbite, squatting, cowards and heroes abound in a depressing tale.

Picture Perfect by Jodi Picoult. This author’s books are easy to read and I like the take on moral dilemmas which they all contain. This one deals with battered wife syndrome, Hollywood stars and Native Americans. I couldn’t put this one down. Recommended if you’re in to her books.

2 thoughts on “Books

Leave a Reply

