The Millennium Trilogy

I have just finished all three books in the Millennium Trilogy: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo; The Girl Who Played with Fire; and The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. I loved the heroine, Lisbeth Salander. I mean, really loved her attitude, quirkiness, intelligence. In fact, all of the characters were so exquisitely written that it made reading it so believable. This is crime writing at its best. If the author, Stieg Larsson, hadn’t died so suddenly soon after delivering the manuscripts, I could see that people would be queuing up to get the next book in the series. As it was, I had to nip out to WH Smith’s to get the last one immediately after finishing number 2. Mariella Frostrup said that she couldn’t bear to read them and thought few women could/should because of the violence. They were indeed pretty dark but I didn’t find it gratuitous in any way. Hear the DVD is out now so perhaps I’ll give it a look, but then I’m not sure that I really need to.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo The Girl Who Played with Fire The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest

5 thoughts on “The Millennium Trilogy

    • Kenny – I was one of the ‘populace’ that had to manage the gap between books 2 and 3, but it was well worth waiting for when it finally popped through my letterbox.

      Ruth – Glad you enjoyed them, it doesn’t surprise me that you loved Lisbeth just as I did.

  1. Hmm, not so sure. I think the fact that he was a journalist means that he writes in a certain style. Mind you, with a good editor… Don’t know. What do you think?

  2. I think some things are better left as they are meant, especially in modern culture.

    Lots of things spring to mind that have been finished off by others, music, artwork, stories then we get prequels and sequels. Bandwagons maybe.

    Mystery should remain as such.

    I’m just starting the Jan Fabel stories….In BLOOD EAGLE, Craig Russell introduces us to a new detective hero, Jan Fabel – half-Scottish, half-German – a man of conscience and imagination.

    Ha HA ha.

Leave a Reply

