Dancing Backwards

Book #1 in my pile of fiction to read now that Lent is over was Dancing Backwards by Salley Vickers. I am a huge fan of all of her books and my only complaint about this one was that it was too short.  It tells the story of Violet travelling across the Atlantic on a cruise ship to meet Edwin, an old friend and poet.  As the story progresses and weaves in the characters on board ship we also are drip fed Violet’s past and her relationship with Edwin. But I just didn’t want it to end. I didn’t want the ship to dock in New York until we’d learned more about Dino the ballroom dance teacher and thief, or the man interested in witch doctors and his wife, or the young couple so completely focussed on their little child.

It was a book about journeys in all sorts of ways. Violet’s inner journey was touching and surprising and I found it quite compelling. I just wish it had been longer…!

2 thoughts on “Dancing Backwards

Leave a Reply

