Stop and smell the daisies

My wee car had to go for its MOT this morning. I wasn’t unduly worried as it seems to be trundling along quite nicely, thank you very much. So, I dropped it off at the garage, walked to church for Morning Prayer and then took a meander along the High Street to visit M who has just had a cataract removed.  I realised as I pottered along looking in the shop windows that I don’t do this often enough. Usually it is a quick drive down, find a parking space and nip into whatever shop I want and then back in the car and off again. Must do this more often, I thought.

Whilst at M’s I got the phone call to say that the car had failed. Not just failed, but failed on five things!  Brakes, steering – the lot. I may get it back tomorrow. My heart is heavy – my wallet will be light.

The bus stop said that there wasn’t another bus for 23 minutes so I decided to walk home. (I really wish I had put more clothes on this morning.)  But again I got to look in gardens and say Good Morning to neighbours who I haven’t seen for ages. Mind you, the whole procedure took me almost four hours. Four hours for one pastoral visit. It will never catch on!

One thought on “Stop and smell the daisies

Leave a Reply

