Avatar

Day off today and some work just has to be done but Son #2 and I did manage a trip to the Omni to see Avatar. Must confess that I was only going to keep him company and see my first 3D film, but was immensely surprised to find that I was hooked from beginning to end.  The special effects were incredible and almost unbelievable for an old duffer like me. Are you sure these weren’t real people?

Loved the fact that men were warriors but women were the spiritual ones.  (Women got to fight too.)  Son #1 said that he’d loved the effects but thought the story was weak. We didn’t find that. In fact I loved the story – saving the planet, a beautiful aboriginal spirituality, anti-war, anti-imperial, and a little bit of loving too. What’s not to like?  And the people were absolutely stunning.

Girls, go and see it. If you thought this was just a movie for the boys, you couldn’t be more wrong.

My only complaint was the flipping cost of the whole exercise! You can tell it has been a while since I have been to the cinema but 2 tickets, some juice and some nachos (which were just vile and inedible) came to £24.  Then parking was £9.80. What if we’d had a meal too? Blimey! That would have taken care of this month’s stipend!!  I wouldn’t mind so much if the cinema had been warm but I had to sit with my hat and gloves on throughout the whole thing. Brr.

11 thoughts on “Avatar

  1. In my mind the best seats in the cinema cost 4/6d for adults (2/3d for children), but then a large loaf is 1/2d, a quarter of tea is 1/4d and a tin of cat food is 7d – these are the prices when I was first sent out aged about 8 on my own on my bike to get odd bits of shopping, but I can still be heard exclaiming loudly in the supermarket “What do they mean? That’s seven shillings for one orange!”

  2. My father (a councillor since 1953, and a magistrate since 1960 – now on retired list, but still available for signing passport photos etc.) tells stories aboput getting in free through the lavatory window when he was a child.

  3. It’s quite true about the jamjars. Mind you, some of us wouldn’t be seen dead in cinemas that accepted jamjars. But it’s an interesting reflection of how natural recycling was in the years after the Second World War, and how short we were of everything.

  4. What did the cinemas do with the jam jars?

    And what was so wrong about being seen in a cinema which accepted them? Did they show films that good boys and girls were not supposed to see.

    I feel my social history to be lacking here, but I’ve no idea what this is about?

  5. I’ve no idea what the cinemas did with the jamjars: possibly recycled them or traded them in in some way. There were acute shortages of pretty much everything, so salvaging and recycling were a way of life during and after WW2.

    It had nothing to do, in my experience, with the kind of films shown: that was taken care of by parental supervision. But some cinemas were notorious for verminous infestation, and the consequent risk of infection. This was before antibiotics were as readily available as they are now.

Leave a Reply

