Another book down, loads to go

This week I have to thank my gal pals for introducing me to Madeleine l’Engle and A Wind in the Door.  Not sure which gal pal recommended Madeleine l’Engle which put her on my wish list but I’m assuming it was one of my American sisters as the author is indeed from the new world. Actually the book I had on my wish list was A Wrinkle in Time which is the first book in the Time Quintet but another gal pal sent me A Wind in the Door which is the second.

These are children’s books but immensely enjoyable and intelligent. There are cherubims masquerading as dragons, journeys to defeat the Echthroi (those who hate) and a mission to restore brilliant harmony and joy to the rhythm of creation, the song of the universe. This is a book to read and re-read to find those big themes of sacrifice and redemption. I’m not sure what age of children may enjoy this as it is quite dark and the language fairly adult. A good book to read aloud, I reckon.

4 thoughts on “Another book down, loads to go

  1. I love Madeleine L’Engle books, adult and children, and often read them now.

    I read “A Wrinkle in Time” when I was about ten ot so and would have no hesitation at recommending the Time Quintet to bright 9+.

  2. Only “Wrinkle” was available here while I was a child…the others appeared in time for my children, I’m glad to say, and were loved from about age 8 – but then mine never stopped reading!

Leave a Reply

