To tell or not to tell?

Blogging about personal things or one’s health is always a tricky one. I know some clergy just don’t do it.  Never a peep.  Although sometimes they use their cat as a substitute. Others do it a lot and that comes in for some criticism. It is a dilemma, right enough.

In the past I have blogged probably more than I should.  Occasionally it has brought about interesting discussions and I was glad I did it. But that is not always the case.

The thing is, there is so much mileage in this latest medical adventure of mine. The jokes are just bubbling away during visits and phone calls and I’d love to share them with you. But that good taste gene is just pulling me back whispering in my ear, “Don’t do it Ruth. Step away from the lurid stories.  You are a priest and must maintain the aura of …. ” (fill inthe gap yourself.)

So let us just say that I have had a wee stay in hospital which involved an operation under general anaesthetic. It was quite nippy after. All has gone well and now I must desist from lifting, driving, bending or hoovering for 8 weeks.  My attention span is that of a gnat.  So far my days have passed in reading, sleeping, reading, sleeping, sleeping, a little TV and then more sleeping. Visitors have been much welcome and very entertaining so far.

And I have promised not to sit at the computer all day long. So a little update in the mornings which I fear will all be much of a muchness is all that I shall do. Well I’m saying that now…

14 thoughts on “To tell or not to tell?

  1. I hate talking about health. I have an uncle who finds it an endlessly fascinating subject (unlike Uncle Peter who was a doctor and thought that illness was a topic of conversation was at the very bottom of any reasonable person’s list and only to be dealt with by making jokes). Uncle Steve, on the other hand, will ask you all concern if you are better now when you have completely forgotten that you sneezed or admitted to feeling a bit tired the last time he saw you more than a month ago! And then he goes on to tell you all his symptoms – every single one of them, and – if you let him – every illness suffered by every member of the family and every friend he has ever had, not to mention those of the dog of the grandfather of the man who used to live three doors away from their daughter in her last house but two. So keep up the cracks. Keep the details to yourself. And get well soon.

  2. But I know what you mean about the horrid jokes – for if, as I suspect, I’ve already been where you are, then they abound. Just try not to laugh at them!

    And another – serious – thought: you are a priest. You don’t need an aura. Your very real humanity is more important.

  3. Oh I’m all for a bit of humanity and I have it in bucketloads. But sometimes there are things that your little flock needn’t have come into their minds as they kneel at the rail.

  4. Ah, wimmin’s problems.
    Yuck!
    As you say – enough said.

    Perhaps priests don’t like to talk about their own health issues because of the countless hours they have spent listening to the gory details of a million hip operations.

  5. The more reading and sleeping the better. My old Aunt is awake and supernally alert for 2 hours a day at 94. Emulate, emulate!

Leave a Reply

