What have I been reading?

Well, not the books I was meant to be reviewing unfortunately, but I digress.

The first one was Abide with Me by Elizabeth Strout and I can’t for the life of me remember who mentioned it first but I had it on my wish list and then spotted it in a charity shop.  It tells the story of Tyler the minister whose wife has died and he is bringing up one daughter, Katherine, who was struck dumb with grief. He is struggling to be a leader and preacher when he himself is lost. Basically it is about ‘who cares for the carer’?  Good novel about family secrets, about grief, and about congregations and small towns.

The second one was The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger which I reckon I am the last person in the world to read.  I enjoyed about three quarters of it butwas disappointed with the ending. Good idea for a book but could have been a lot more exciting.  Do I need to explain it if you’ve all read it?  Man can travel backwards and forwards in time, always arriving naked.  I mean, there are so many funny scenarios you could have with that one – and so many scary ones too.  I think that was a missed opportunity. Falls in love and marries and wife knows so there’s a lot of ‘I know what’s going to happen next year but I can’t tell you’ sort of thing.  That’s about it really.

And in case you are interested, our next Bookmark book is My Name Was Judas by CK Stead meeting on 9 November.

2 thoughts on “What have I been reading?

  1. Agree with your comments Lissa, and yes it must have been some feat to write and keep track of it all. I did enjoy it but just felt it needed more. Everyone’s a critic, eh?

Leave a Reply

