All change

The front of the rectory basks in sunshine most of the day while the back of the house is pretty dark and dreary. When I moved in I decided to have my study at the back overlooking the garden and the lounge was at the front. It has taken me three years to realise that I spend sometimes 12 hours a day in my study and perhaps 2 hours in my lounge and that really it would be sensible to sit in the warm bright room. So it has been all change, thanks to Son #1 who has just finished his finals at Edinburgh Uni. (Do you want to employ him, by the way?)

My study is now lilac and bright and gloriously warm. My lounge gets a wee bit of light in the evening which is just right. Having watched 60 Minute Makeover I understand that statement wallpapers are all the rage at the moment so the lounge is now adorned with this gorgeous purple and silver extravaganza. (Graham and Brown, in case you’re interested.) What do you think? Like it?

Lounge09 w400

9 thoughts on “All change

  1. I love it, a great combination and you are right if you spend most of the day in the study you might as well make it the better room in the house.

  2. Lilac & purple…..now there’s a surprise…..and if you stand still long enough people might think you were losing your hair ‘cos it will be so well camouflaged :-)…..

  3. Looks good!
    Look forward to trying out the new look rectory… I may need a search party though to drag me out of your study on my way back from the loo… How many times have you turned the wrong way out of the kitchen so far with mug in hand?

Leave a Reply

