I love Stationery

Ever since I was a little girl and got my first pack of 12 HB pencils with my name printed on them in gold I have been in love with stationery. I remember fondly those trips to Woolies before we went back to school and stocked up on pencil cases, maths sets, and pens galore. I remember my first fountain pen (and winning the prize for best handwriting too) and that developed into the search for lilac ink. At University I discovered I had RSI in my hand and was sent to a physiotherapist who watched me write and said I pressed very hard with my pen. She recommended gel ink because it requires less pressure and I found my beloved Pilot G-1 0.7 in Violet.  Sadly I am down to my last half inch of ink and can’t find a source for them anymore. But I also love an italic pen, or a Pentel Ultra-fine in black for form-filling. Broad nibs are preferrable.

There is almost nothing quite like that frisson of pleasure when you open a new journal and the virgin pages lie before you waiting to be filled with thoughts and dreams. It all began with page-a-day diaries and then developed into notebooks in the best quality I could afford. (Very important that ink doesn’t bleed through to the other side.) My journal writing lasted from when I was about 14 until my Blog took over, but that hasn’t stopped me purchasing gorgeous books to put quotes in, or take to conferences and retreats. Both sons have inherited my love of stationery and have since introduced me to Moleskin notebooks which are classy but not quite purple or unusual enough.

My love of stationery is not restricted to pens and papers however. I can linger in a Stationery cupboard for hours just gazing at post-it notes in every hue, index cards, treasury tags, folders and pocket files.  How did we ever manage before Post-it Index flags to mark our pages? And you can’t hurry me in a Stationery shop for love nor money. I linger over those wonderful art and painting supplies with lust in my heart. Now if only I could paint…

Diaries are another source of pleasure. Over the years there have been desk blotters, page-a-dayers, angels and arty ones spiral bound for ease of writing, filofaxes which I have a love/hate relationship with (too big and heavy for handbags), electronic (too slow), and of course the beloved Parson’s Pocketbook. It is the latter that I am using at the moment in filofax form (lavender in case you were wondering) but I may go back to the burgundy version next year. I do wish they would do a two-page per week version though.

So there you have it. My secret vice shared with you all. And if you ever find some of those Pilot G-1 0.7 pens in Violet please buy them all for me, would you?

10 thoughts on “I love Stationery

  1. I’m a convert to the Moleskine journals after a friend bought me my first over the summer.

    Have you ever been to a Muji stationary shop? I could spend hours in there. I used to live in Japan, which has the best stationary stores in the world. I think my real stationary addiction started there, and now whenever I find myself in Muji (sadly there are none in Scotland that I know of), I spend a fortune hoovering up all their goodies. They have purple gel pens too you know….

  2. Here’s the website and there’s a shop locator on there: http://www.mujionline.co.uk. There are several in the big cities in England. Seriously, if you ever find yourself in London or Birmingham or Leeds, look one up. You can also order online, of course, but that’s not nearly as nice as seeing all those lovely notebooks and pens beautifully displayed.

  3. Good to know I’m not the only one who glories in stationery – my trouble is I love the books and pens and I have shelves of them but you can’t go back and change things like you can on a computer.
    Jen

  4. Oh! You have just reminded me what a difference to one’s quality of life a purple gel pen can make.
    At school they used to make us write in ink, in either blue or black, so I used turquoise cartridges to stretch the rule a little – I wonder if they still do them?

  5. The only time I ever get an urge to shoplift (always resisted) or just go mad with impulse buys is in a stationery shop.

    Broad nib (oblique) fountain pen and black ink.
    Fineline mapping pens.
    One dozen 3B drawing pencils.
    Hard backed notebook with marbled end papers.

    Beats roses and chocolates any day of the week.

  6. I recently found out that my sister shares my love of stationery too. I wondered before if it was just me! Now I’ve realised it, I’ll browse the stationery first at Sainsbury’s before I do the food shopping.
    It’s some times the little things in life…

    I’ve just started using the G2s & love writing in my filofax with them.

Leave a Reply

