Holiday Reading

Never has a week’s holiday gone by so fast. Of course the first two days were spent sorting through the unopened Holy Week mail and writing a report for a Board which was due. And while friends were sunbathing on Iona the east coast haar meant that Durham Towers were shrouded in freezing fog for most of it. Nothing for it then, but to read a pile of novels. So this is what I read…

The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith. I’ve only read a couple of the Ladies’ Detective ones and they were quite charming. This one is set in Edinburgh, not Africa, and I do like a book set in my home town. But sad to say I didn’t really enjoy it. The philosophy of the title was a tad contrived and as whodunnits go it wasn’t the best.

Deep Waters by Kate Charles. Having just read her latest in paperback, Kate herself was kind enough to comment on my blog and let me know that a new one was out in hardback. This one combines a priest who happens to be a woman and the world of celebrity. Too much of the latter and not enough of the former for my liking, but enjoyed it all the same. One of the reasons I like Kate Charles is her knowledge of the Church but there just wasn’t enough of those ‘characters’ in it this time.

Relics by Pip Vaughan-Hughes. A medieval romp with monks, relics, Knights Templar, pirates and love. What more do you need?

Sepulchre by Kate Mosse. Same format as her other book Labyrinth, leaping back and forth in time. Based in France it tells the stories of Leonie (1891) and Meredith (2007) and their interconnectedness. Throw in some tarot cards and a smidge of satanism and you’ve got the formula.

The Naming of the Dead by Ian Rankin.  More Edinburgh and a bit of Gleneagles at the time of the G8, a serial killer and Rebus is suspended yet again. Didn’t guess the killer though.

So, there you have it. A week indoors and finally on the last day the sun comes out. My sleep deprivation of last week has abated and the physical and mental exhaustion has finally been restored to almost normality, whatever that is.  My word, but Holy Week and Easter are very tiring. But wasn’t it just great?

I see from the diary that I have a busy week ahead culminating in a musical extravaganza on the Feast of St Mark (Sat 25th) from 2-5pm. Every musical taste catered for. Well not quite ‘every’ but it will be great all the same. Why don’t you pop in for a wee while?

5 thoughts on “Holiday Reading

  1. I too enjoy the No.1 Ladies Detective Agency novels and found the Philosophy Club distinctly less engaging, but what really surprised me after the ‘feel good’ nature of the Lady Detectives was the sheer heartlessness of the Von Igelfeld novels. Do you know what the Scotland Street novels are like?

    I’ll look out for Kate Charles.

  2. Lissa, no I don’t know the Scotland St ones – will keep an eye out for them in the charity shops.

    I seldom see Kate’s books in the shops nowadays but Amazon or your library should help. They are excellent.

  3. ‘being a fan of nuns and nazi numbers also’…

    Which now makes me think of that wonderful song from The Producers:
    ‘Springtime with Hitler in Germany’ 😀

Leave a Reply

