A day of processions

We started off Palm Sunday with a procession round the garden waving our palms and singing Ride on Ride on in Majesty. It was a beautiful sunny day but we were not tempted to join in the other procession going on at the end of the road – the Half Marathon.

At the end of the service the children led a mini procession to a song from Jesus Christ Superstar – led by a donkey and followed by Jesus and Mary. Yes, Mary was sure to be there, I was told.

Then when I popped out to do a little shopping in the afternoon I found myself in the middle of a procession of Lambretta (or other such type) scooters. They went on forever but I came to the conclusion that you shouldn’t be angry at processions. They are all statements of belief, no?

4 thoughts on “A day of processions

  1. I’m still recovering from the clarinet playing in the procession for the Annunciation, let alone Palm Sunday… I’m sure All Glory Laud and Honour sneaks in new verses every year.

    I’ll reserve comment on other processions… For a few years, I lived too close to a major football stadium where the traffic would be stopped to let the 200 or so coaches go to the M8, or other routes out of Glasgow. Being trapped the wrong side of that procession was never a pleasant experience! Once trapped, you just had to stay put until it was clear.

  2. Blimey, I can’t even walk and sing let alone play a wind instrument! I take my hat off to you, Moyra.

    and I know what you mean about the frustration of being caught up in a procession, not of your own making! But my way of dealing with it yesterday was to think of all that passion and bless them! See how good I am?!

  3. You’re very good!

    To be fair, we all knew when the matches were, and learnt to avoid getting caught, and it only really happened to me badly three times in three years.

    My lungs were fit to burst by the time we got to church! I need to do more practice, definitely. But, it does help us to start at a reasonable pitch, and stay there.

Leave a Reply

