Books, books, books

In my attempt to drag myself away from mind-numbing TV I have been readings lots lately. Here are my latest two recommendations:

Falling Angels by Tracy Chevalier. I don’t know how I missed this one when it came out a few years ago as I am a huge Chevalier fan. As ever she manages to mix historical fact with excellent fiction and this one is no different. This book focuses on the Suffragette movement and death and was a great read.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows. This was recommended to me by C at church and she said it was her fave book. I read it in one sitting yesterday after church and loved it. It takes the form of letters, mostly between a journalist/author and the members of the aforementioned reading group. Mostly, though it is about Guernsey and its occupation during WW2 and if it doesn’t make you want to go and visit or learn more then you didn’t read the same book as me!  Look out Bookmark – this may be on the list soon…

Leave a Reply

