Sign the petition please

Fr Kelvin has drawn my attention to the petition which is being presented to the Scottish Parliament which urges the Scottish Government to amend the Marriage (Scotland) Act 1977 to allow two people of the same sex to register a civil marriage and a religious marriage if the relevant religious body consents.

I was a Deacon of only one week when I had a phone call asking if I would perform a marriage between two women. All I could do was give a blessing then but I know that they really wanted to get married in church before God. Of course things have moved on and now they could have a Civil Partnership – and may well have done. However, it is not the same as standing up in the church community to which you belong and making the same vows that your heterosexual friends can.

It is really about Equality and Justice. And that is important to me, and to you I hope.

Anyone can sign it and can do so here. (It is a little temperamental and it took me two attempts so stick with it.)

Leave a Reply

