Love your neighbour

By popular demand, this is the joke from yesterday’s sermon…

A husband is at home watching football when his wife interrupts:

‘Darling, could you please fix the light in the hall? It’s been flickering for weeks now.’

The man looks up and with a rather angry expression says:

‘Fix the light now?  Does it look like I have Electrician stamped on my forehead? I don’t think so!’

‘Fine,’ she says, ‘then could you at least fix the front door step? I don’t know how often I’ve tripped on that loose bit of wood.’

The man replies:

‘Does it look like I have B&Q stamped on my forehead? I don’t think so. You know, I’ve had enough of your nagging – I’m off down the pub.’

So he goes down the pub, has a few drinks and then a few more. Then he starts to feel guilty about how he has treated his wife and decides that really he should go home and help out.

As we walks up the path he notices that the front door step has been fixed and when he goes through the front door he sees the hall light is working fine.

‘Honey!’ he calls out, ‘ how did this happen? Everything is fixed.’

So his wife replies:

‘Well, when you left I sat outside and cried and then that nice young neighbour passed by and asked me what was wrong. I told him and he offered to do all the repairs and all I had to do was either go to bed with him or bake a cake.’

The husband replies:

‘So what kind of cake did you bake him?’

‘Eh, hello! Do you see Delia Smith written on my forehead? I don’t think so!’

One thought on “Love your neighbour

Leave a Reply

