Mission & Ministry and a single bed

The M&M committee spent 24 hours in the beautiful Whitchester discussing all sorts of things including how to improve clergy morale. We think we’ve come up with a great idea but you’ll have to wait to hear about it. But it is very exciting.

I don’t know why but it is so much more productive for Committees and Boards to go away to work. (Unless you go to the Quality Hotel in Perth, that is.) But there is something about different surroundings, comfy chairs and good food to make it all the more appealing and conducive to hard work. Not to mention the fact that a wee glass of vino helps us get to know one another better. Whitchester (just outside Hawick) is certainly comfy and the food is wonderful. The bedrooms are gorgeous and chintzy and really my only complaint was the single bed. I know not why, but I just can’t sleep in a single bed so I spent most of the night tossing and turning in a three-point-turn kind of way.

I’ve booked St Mark’s in for a silent retreat next June but this time I’m having the room with the double bed. So there.

4 thoughts on “Mission & Ministry and a single bed

  1. Please don’t keep us in suspense too long Ruth!

    Quality Hotel! though I have to say, the PYN reunion was there 2 and a bit years ago and the facilities are decent conference wise but I’ve heard the rooms are less so!

  2. OK, I give in. How would you feel about a College of Priests or Clergy Association which believed in excellence in lifelong learning, in regular reviews by the bishop, in clergy wellness (physical, emotional and spiritual). If you join you commit to covenanting together for support and further training, for regular appraisals and reviews. To be a member means ongoing training to keep up membership.

    In time Vestries will ask if you are a member of the College of Priests/Clergy Association and if you’re not then they won’t even consider you for the job. Soon all those clergy who don’t turn up to synods, committees, CMD will have to do something about it or not get jobs.

    Doctors have this, as do teachers and other disciplines. It is about respect and valuing ourselves. Now if all the bishops could get on board this could be really exciting. Soon everyone will want to come to Scotland!

  3. I guess it will start out exciting and end up as “what is the minimum I can do to make sure I’ve ticked off my CPD for the year” – like the other professions I know.

    Sorry to be the voice of gloom.

Leave a Reply

