What’s in a name?

A long, long time ago, when I worked for the Rock Trust, I came across a minister with a very funny name. No, I will not mention it here just in case he is not aware of how amusing it is. It was a quiet afternoon, if I remember correctly, and we spent the next wee while sharing amusing names. For example, I was at school with a girl called Hazel Nutt.  And so it went on… and on… and on… My, how we laughed. I wrote them down and over the years I have added to my list. Now, whenever I am feeling low there is nothing quite like getting the Funny Names List out and having a good chortle.

Imagine my delight to discover that there is now a book of these names: Potty, Fartwell & Knob by Russell Ash. And what a delight it is. Thousands and thousands of amusing names to titter over. Want to hear some?

Fanny Farty

Annus Bumphrey

Gayman Rackstraw

Charity Clap

Min Spiess

Mary Scarey

Thigh McKay

Minniehaha Smith

Nicholas If-Jesus-Had-Not-Died-For-Thee-Thou-Hadst-Been-Damned Barebon (son of Praise-God Barbon)

and a whole host of Emma Royds etc.

Bliss! Baptisms are going to be such fun from now on. What suggestions I shall have.

10 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. My favourites are Orson Carte and Ophelia Sheepshanks which I am assured is genuine. Ophelia apparently was the daughter of Bishop Sheepshanks (sometime early in the twentieth century) and is said to have received just one proposal of marriage from a Mr. Rowbotham.

    The other day I met a child called Centime.

  2. An ex-neighbour’s mum is called Gay Cox.

    AW had pupil’s (siblings) at his ex-school called Velvet, Porche and Mercedes.

    Have you heard Rowan Atkinson’s School Master sketch at the Secret Poilceman’s Other Ball. You can see it on you tube.

  3. I did a naming service for a child today… called … ” Shine”
    it was a boy.

    I wanted SO much to say Shine Jesus Shine but of course I did not…..

  4. Ruth….those Rock Trust days still live on. We now have ‘name of the day’ at work. Our favourite of recent times has been Philomena De Lima. I seem to remember the original list was prompted by my story of Colethort Barnfather. The original and best?

  5. tee hee. Keep them coming folks.

    And is that Mike Nicholson, the author, commenting on my blog? (You can order his latest book Grimm from Amazon, btw.)

    Yes, it did all start with Colethort Barnfather followed closely by the Rev William Clinkenbeard. Glad to hear funny name day is still going on.

  6. I once read of a Madame Fouqueau de Pussy and a Mrs Nirvana Ayscough de la Fontenelle Gibbon.

    Roland Butter was another favourite.

    In school I was asked to take a message to a supply teacher, Mrs Bumstead. Neither I nor the rest of the class believed it was other than a joke.

Leave a Reply

