Rock me gently

Just finished reading Rock me Gently (A true story of a convent childhood) by Judith Kelly. It was another scary nun story.

I wonder why I am fascinated by scary nuns? But there is something about abuse done in God’s name which resonates with me. It takes a strong person to challenge it and I’m not sure that any of our churches have got it right even now.

There is abuse in the childrens homes; abuse of women by clergy; abuse of children by clergy; and bullying in our theological colleges and in our training. Is it any wonder that it keeps perpetuating itself? Who will stand up and make it stop?

Leave a Reply

