Fun weekend

On Saturday I attended Fr Kevin Pearson’s silver jubilee of his priesting at St Michael & All Saints in Edinburgh. It was a glorious occasion and everybody seemed to have a good time. I was honoured to be asked to deacon at the High Mass and as its only the second time I have done this, I surprised myself by managing to carry it all off with hardly any mistakes. My biggest worry was that I would pass out with heatstroke as I was wearing a new dalmatic which was very gold and very crispy and very hot. However, I fared better than Bishop Brian who has not been well recently and had to slip out during the mass to lie down on the Sacristy floor for a while before returning as if nothing had happened.

I managed to kneel in all the right places and on the right steps and thus avoided being kicked in the nether regions by genuflecting priests and clunked on the back of the head by enthusiastic thurifers. Speaking of which, Fr Kevin had borrowed my beloved thurible (aka Big Aggie) which came from the Catholic Apostolic Church in Glasgow, and had her professionally cleaned until she sparkled like new. She was a joy to behold.

The music was glorious and included some of my favourite hymns, and the choir surpassed themselves singing the Rachmaninov mass setting and two glorious anthems.

The day ended with a wonderful meal and a ceilidh where the great and the good hurled themselves around the floor in great heat while I watched from a smoky corner. My friend Shena broke her gorgeous little shoe and had to limp home on the train to Linlithgow with great fortitude and amidst much laughter.

Yesterday, we had my good friend Canon Alex Black preaching on the Feast of Ss Peter & Paul at both my churches and then we went to Beecraigs for a barbecue. My prayers were answered and the sun shone all afternoon. Bishop Douglas and his wife Pat joined in playing cricket with Jamie (age 6) and others. I suspect this will become an annual event.

Leave a Reply

