Baptism of Christ

Many years ago I picked up a secondhand book in the Christian Aid booksale called The Faces of Jesus by Frederick Buechner. It is an American book and full of wonderful pictures and paintings. I think it was the first time that I saw indigenous pictures of Jesus: Jesus as a Chinese man with slanting eyes and a wispy moustache; Jesus as a noble African with wide nose and sorrowful eyes. And I became quite fascinated by images of Christ in art.

BaptismofX Pheoris West  This week I came across this picture of the Baptism of Christ by Pheoris West, a North American artist, in Imaging the Word Vol 1.

I rather like the fact that he is looking in different directions. In fact, it reminds me of a Dutch painting called Trinitarian Christ which also shows Jesus’ face as three sides.

Trinitarian Christ Flemish 1500

The Baptism painting shows a young man full of life and vitality. There is light and dark. There is movement of the water and the sky.

I could look at it for hours.

I think the arm down the right side and along the bottom is John the Baptist’s.

What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Baptism of Christ

  1. godschool

    Absolutely wonderful. Did you ever come across the CMS project which had representations of Christ from all around the world, with a study guide? Blowed if I can remember what it’s called :( but it’s very thought-provoking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

